jump to navigation

Prayers answered August 14, 2007

Posted by rootie2t in good stuff.
trackback

I’m not typically the type of person who prays constantly. I don’t generally thank God for every single thing, especially if those things would happen whether or not I was here to benefit.

 Sometimes, tho, something happens that I’ve been praying long, loud and hard about, and it happens in a way that no one realizes it’s an answered prayer.

 My eldest son, the one we kicked out, who has lived successfully (relatively) on his own for the past year, was contemplating quitting his $9/hr 50hr/wk w/ benefits job for a $7/hr 35hr/wk no benefits job that was in airconditioning.  I can’t say I blame him for considering it. His current job is in a textile mill, with an ambient tempurature of 120 degrees and 98% humidity. It’s better in January, but right now it is absolutely hellish.  We tried very hard not to influence him one way or the other.  We prayed very hard that he’d keep his job with its high pay (for this area, extremely high pay) and excellent benefits.  He wanted to move into an apartment with a friend, a nice guy but whose work hours were quite different from his, and he isn’t strong enough to be able to regulate himself and his sleep. He just can’t say no.  Then that fell through and his landlady offered him a nicer, bigger apartment for less rent if he’d stay.  So he did, and he kept his job, and he came to us asking for help budgetting his money. Prayers answered all around.  The hardest part was keeping a straight face when he told us all this news.  We did a whole lot of throwing “Thank You!” around.

Comments»

1. mermade - August 17, 2007

I don’t pray a whole lot, either. Sometimes I feel bad about it, because in church we were taught that Jesus is our best friend who wants to talk with us all the time. Yet, I don’t see the point in bothering Him with the small stuff. I pray when I am very thankful for something, and when I need serious help. I hope that’s cool with the Big Guy in the Sky.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

